Help index

Synced_Sessions


Synced Sessions
< Back to Help index

Kollaborate Help

Synced Sessions

Synced Sessions allow you to view files collaboratively with members of your team with all of your playheads synced together so you all see the same frame at once.

Creating a Synced Session

  1. Click Sessions on the navigation bar at the top of every page.
  2. Click New Session.
  3. Enter a name for the session. All session participants will be able to see this name.
  4. Select users you wish to invite. They will be emailed a notification.
  5. Click Create Session.

You will automatically join the session as a host. If you need to rejoin it later on, you can do so by clicking its name on the Sessions page.

You can tell when you are part of a session because a green bar appears at the top of the screen.

Joining as a guest

Upon receiving an invitation to a synced session, either click the link in your email to automatically join it or go to the Sessions page and click the name of the session to join it.

You can tell when you are part of a session because a green bar appears at the top of the screen.

Viewing the guests

You will be notified when other people join and leave the session. You can also click the "Controlled by" dropdown at the far right of the green bar to see the guest list.

Hosting the session

When everyone has joined, select a file for them to view. This will load the file on all of their computers at once.

Files in synced sessions don't autoplay. This is because some guests may need a moment for the file to load. You can tell when all guests are ready for playback because the Sync icon at the bottom right of the player will turn green. You can then play the file.

It's generally assumed that you have another form of communication going with the guests such as a conference call or Skype session where you can discuss the file. As you are talking you can play, pause and jump to specific points to show the guests specific parts of the video. They can also leave comments on the file as normal.

If a guest ends up going out of sync, pause playback for a couple of seconds and then start it again.

Leaving the session

Guests can click Leave Session on the green bar at the top of the screen to leave the session. Other participants will be notified that they left.

If you are the host, clicking End Session will end the session for all participants.

Feedback

Feedback

Give feedback about Kollaborate to Digital Rebellion.