< Back to Help index

Kollaborate Help

Creating File Workflows

File Workflows can be created from the Workflows page accessible from the navigation bar at the top of every page.

Note: Only admins can access this page.

By default, each project is assigned three workflows:

  • Approved - This highlights the file green and adds a label saying "Approved"
  • Rejected - This highlights the file red and adds a label saying "Rejected"
  • Needs Approval - This asks team members to approve or reject the file. If they reject it, it is assigned the Rejected workflow (turning the file red) and if they approve it, it is assigned the Approved workflow (turning it green)

You can either edit these existing workflows or create new ones.

Creating a workflow

Click New Workflow at the top of the page, then select File Workflow.

Choose a name for the workflow. This name will be visible to everyone on the project. It's best to give it a name that indicates a certain status such as "Needs Checking" or "To be Edited".

Then choose a list of actions to apply to files assigned that workflow.

  • Move File - Moves the file to a specific folder or department
  • Color Code File - Assigns the file a particular color
  • Require Approval - Prompt viewers to approve or reject the file.

    You can choose from a list of users or departments, but only those with approval permissions on the Team page will be shown in the list and be able to approve files. By default anyone with approval permissions can approve, so deselect the (Anyone) option to choose a specific list of people.

    By default the file will be considered approved or rejected by the first person to do so. You can instead require that all listed reviewers must have their input before the file is considered approved or rejected by changing the "Any" dropdown to "All".

    Run Workflow if Approved - This is the workflow that the file will be assigned when it has been approved. This could be a workflow that color codes it, moves it to a different folder or sets up another round of approval.

    Run Workflow if Rejected - This is the workflow that the file will be assigned when it has been rejected. This could be a workflow that color codes it, moves it to a different folder or sets up another round of approval.

  • Set File Status - Assign a text label to show below the filename on the Files page
  • Share Link to File - Sends a link to one or more email addresses to allow those users to access the file. The options here are almost exactly the same as those available on the Share page.
  • Set File Metadata - Allows you to disable comments on a file. This is useful for preventing new comments once a file has been approved.

Click Save Workflow to save your changes. If the workflow has already been assigned to files, saving will cause those files to run the workflow again.

Notes

  1. You must select an approval and rejection workflow to run if you choose Require Approval. It therefore makes sense to create these first and create the approval workflow last.
  2. If you chose to allow certain departments to approve files, a user who reviews the file will be considered to be reviewing it for all departments they belong to.
Feedback

Feedback

Give feedback about Kollaborate to Digital Rebellion.