< Back to Help index

Kollaborate Help

Uploading Files

You can either upload files by dragging them onto the Files page or by clicking the Upload button on the Files page.

Note: Uploading is only possible if you have been granted upload permissions from the Team page.

You can drag in any type of file, including folders, but there is a 5 GB size limit per file on the cloud. This does not apply when self-hosting Kollaborate Server.

Optimization

After a file has finished uploading you can access it immediately. However, if the file was uploaded in a format not playable by a web browser you will need to wait for the file to finish optimizing first. If you upload H.264 videos in an MP4 container you can play them back immediately without waiting for optimization (although optimization will still occur regardless).

You can tell if a file is in the optimization stage because a circular arrow icon will appear to the left of its title in the player. When that icon changes to a green tick, you can click it to reload the page and play the optimized file.

Other upload options

Right-clicking a file on the Files page provides some additional options for uploading.

Upload Replacement allows you to swap out a file with another one, which is useful if there was a minor defect and you want to fix it before anyone reviews it.

Upload Version allows you to specify that the new file is a revision of the current one, even if the filenames don't match.

Uploading from an app

The following Digital Rebellion apps can upload to Kollaborate:

Kollaborate Transfer - Batch uploader with watermarking features Kollaborate Folder Watcher - Automatically upload to the cloud by copying files to a watch folder on your hard drive Kollaborate Plugin Pack - Upload directly from Final Cut Pro X and Adobe Premiere

The key difference between uploading from an app and uploading via the site is when the optimization stage occurs. In the apps, this happens before upload and so the uploaded file does not need to be optimized and can be played back immediately. Such files are likely to be smaller, which will help to make the upload faster.

When uploading videos via the site, the file you uploaded is stored and an optimized copy is created for playback. The optimized file does not count towards your storage limit but the original file does. The advantage of this compared to the apps is that the original file is downloaded when you click the Download button. You could therefore upload a high-resolution ProRes file that will play in the browser after optimization but can still be made available by clicking the Download button.

Feedback

Feedback

Give feedback about Kollaborate to Digital Rebellion.