Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Do you offer a trial period?
A. Yes, this is available from the Registration page. The trial period will allow you to use the site free of charge with 5 users and 2 GB of storage for 15 days. No credit card is required for trial registration.
Q. What if I don't want everybody in the project to see every file?
A. Each department has its own private storage area. The only people who can see files here are people within the department and anyone assigned admin status.
Q. What's the best browser to use?
A. We support a wide range of browsers but have had best results with the latest version of Google Chrome.
Q. How do I import markers into FCPX, Adobe Premiere or FCP 7?
A. Use the free Marker Import tool available from the Resources page. Avid and DaVinci Resolve users can import markers natively.
Q. How can I stop clients seeing comments by my team on a file?
A. Create an alias to the file and then move it to the Clients department or share a link with them.
Q. What's the largest file size I can upload?
A. The cloud version of Kollaborate supports files up to 50 GB. The maximum file size for Kollaborate Server is subject to configuration so is theoretically unlimited.
Q. Does each person on my team need their own paid account?
A. No, only one paid account is ever needed. The subscriber account creates the projects and then any files uploaded by any team member to those projects count towards the subscriber's storage space limit. (If you need other team members to create projects, you can do so by linking their accounts to the subscription.)
Q. How long are my files kept on the server if I cancel my subscription?
A. Files from users without an active subscription are automatically deleted after 60 days.
Q. Can I encode video at a higher bitrate than your server allows?
A. Yes, you can encode in a different application and then use Upload Workflows to prevent the file being converted. However, be aware that the default settings have been chosen as a good mix between quality and performance so any deviation may take longer to buffer.
Q. What are the limitations on free accounts?
A. Users with free accounts or expired trials can be invited to projects but they cannot create projects (unless linked to a subscriber's account) or use personal storage. They have no limitations on projects they have been invited to if they have been invited as an admin or department head.
Q. Can I compare two shots side-by-side?
A. Yes, this is possible with the playhead ganging feature of CinePlay for Mac, which is free for Kollaborate use.
Q. Am I able to run Kollaborate on my own private server?
A. Yes, please see Kollaborate Server.
Q. Can I change the logo and color scheme of the site?
A. You can change the logo others see when they view a project you create from the Account page. Additionally, further customization including color scheme is available with Kollaborate Server.
Q. Can anyone one other than the billing / subscriber account create projects?
A. You can link team member accounts to your subscription here, which will allow others to create projects from your subscription.
Q. What's the difference between team member roles?
A. The default permissions are as follows:
|Role||Is Admin||Can Upload||Can Download||Can Delete||Can Approve||Can Share|
Note: permissions can also be manually adjusted.