Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Do you offer a trial period?
A. Yes, this is available from the Registration page. The trial period will allow you to use the site free of charge with 5 users and 1 GB of storage for 15 days. No credit card is required for trial registration.
Q. What are your recommended video encoding settings?
A. You can upload videos of any size or bitrate (only H.264 is playable directly in the browser) but our recommended settings are:
- H.264 in an MP4 container (Main or Baseline profile)
- Up to 960x540 resolution
- Around 2 Mbps bitrate
- AAC audio, 44.1 KHz, around 128 kbps bitrate.
- Fast start switched on if available
Q. What's the best browser to use?
A. We support a wide range of browsers but have had best results with the latest version of Google Chrome.
Q. What if I don't want everybody in the project to see every file?
A. Each department has its own private storage area. The only people who can see files here are people within the department and anyone assigned admin status.
Q. How can I stop clients seeing comments by my team on a file?
A. Create an alias to the file and then move it to the Clients department or share a link with them.
Q. How do I import markers into Final Cut Pro 7, FCPX or Adobe Premiere?
A. Use the free Marker Import tool available from the Resources page.
Q. What's the largest file size I can upload?
A. Kollaborate supports files up to 4 GB. The maximum file size for Kollaborate Server is subject to configuration so is theoretically unlimited.
Q. How long are my files kept on the server if I cancel my subscription?
A. Files from users without an active subscription are automatically deleted after 30 days.
Q. Can I encode video at a higher bitrate than Kollaborate Transfer allows?
A. Yes, you can encode in a different application and then deselect the Convert checkbox in Kollaborate Transfer when importing the file. Be aware that the default settings have been chosen as a good mix between quality and performance so any deviation may take longer to buffer.
Q. What are the limitations on free accounts?
A. Users with free accounts or expired trials can be invited to projects but they cannot create projects or use personal storage. They have no limitations on projects they have been invited to if they have been invited as an admin or department head.
Q. Which browsers support Cut Notes sync?
A. Cut Notes will save notes to Kollaborate regardless of the web browser but live timecode and playback control is supported on the latest versions of Chrome, Safari and Firefox and iOS Mobile Safari in iOS 6 and higher.
Q. Can I compare two shots side-by-side?
A. Yes, this is possible with the playhead ganging feature of CinePlay for Mac, which is free for Kollaborate use.
Q. Can I use a dark user interface instead?
A. Yes, we have a dark skin available which can be toggled on by clicking your name at the top right of the screen after logging in.
Q. How can I switch from monthly to annual billing or vice versa?
A. Due to limitations in our billing provider's API, you cannot directly switch from one billing cycle to another, however you can cancel and re-subscribe using the desired billing cycle without penalty and without affecting any of your projects and files.
Q. Am I able to run Kollaborate on my own private server?
A. Yes, please see Kollaborate Server.
Q. Can I change the logo and color scheme of the site?
A. You can change the logo others see when they view a project you create from the Profile page. Additionally, further customization including color scheme is available with Kollaborate Server.
Q. Can I customize the departments and user positions?
A. Yes, you can add new departments and positions on a per-project basis. You can also create them on a server-wide basis with Kollaborate Server.
Q. Can no-one other than the billing / subscriber account create projects?
A. You can link team member accounts to your subscription here, which will allow others to create projects from your subscription.